Vegan Pumpkin Pie 2.0

I thought I’d do some makeover on this pie, as, after a great turn about diets and meal plans, I finally made up my mind and stick to a non-fad diet that was healthy and most convenient for me. Why overwork yourself that much? This pie recipe I build up long, long time ago, quite nostalgic 🙂 I remember it came out very good, and I am going to follow the silken tofu tip that was given.

As for the crust, I’m not very sure what to do about it, but I guess, if I make a crustless pie it’d be weird, more like pumpkin pudding (which is not bad at all) I think I am gonna go with oatmeal. I am still going to experiment on the ingredient size for this. As I am cutting on fats, I am not gonna sub with almond flour, also because the fats from the almond don’t tolerate much heat and become unstable.

Pumpkin pie crust

Ingredients_

1 and 1/2 cups oats

1/2 tsp salt

2 tbsp honey

2 tbsp juice or non-dairy milk

100 ml water

1- Combine ingrediens in a sauce pan. Cook on low heat, when it is soft but not soggy, remove and spread over form.

2- Grease the form and with your fingers press the mixture on the bottoms and the sides, better if all is uniformly spread.

Pumpkin pie filling

1 kg of pumpkin

1/2 cup honey or soaked and pitted medjool dates

2 tsp cinnamon

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 cloves

1/2 tsp nutmeg

100 ml rice milk (or any non-dairy milk)

120g firm silken tofu

1- Remove the seeds of the pumpkin and chop, you do not need to remove the skin, bake in the oven for 45 min, and the skin is easily peeled (I removed it with a fork). We are going to crush it into a nice pumpkin puree.

2- Throw all the ingredients into a food processor. If you like it smoother you just have to blend it better.

3- Pour the filling into the pie crust. And bake for about 40 minutes in 170ºC (350 F). We just want to lower the moisture of the cake.

4- Let it rest in the oven for some time, until safe to eat (attention HOT), don’t adventure yourself!

Hope you try and like it! For me it was too little, as soon as it was cold enough to eat, me and my mother finished half of the pie. Yummy desu!

2 thoughts on “Vegan Pumpkin Pie 2.0

Leave a Reply

