Paleo Pumpkin Dessert

I’ve got a whole pumpkin sitting in my fridge, in the adventure of looking for recipes, I concluded that those are too much work and the taste is all the same, you know, the usual cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice combination. More than that I appreaciate the natural sweetness of the pumpkin, it is so sweet and delicious already, why overfill it with other tastes?

Simple is really the best in some cases, you are eating pumpkin, not the fragrance of the spices. In my opinion spices are only to enhance taste and not to “create” taste, if you know what I mean, you don’t add salt to a cake to make it taste savory but to bring out the sweetness of the taste.

I think pumpkin can do that on its own, all you need to do is to bake it right. I chopped it in 3-4cm pieces, set the grill setting of the oven to 200ºC and put aluminium foil losely over it (so it doesn’t burn the meat), and let it there for 1h30 and went to set my documents straight.

When I came home 4 hours later the pumpkin smell was still dwelling all over the house, was a good «welcome home».

On the baking tray, there stood some caramelized pumpkin juice, so beautiful! And here I leave you my recipe!

Ingredients:

500g of chopped pumpkin (you don’t need to chop of the skin)
1 tbsp of honey (or to taste)
200g of greek yoghurt
water or milk (optional, to taste)

Directions:

1. Place pumpkin in a baking tray, losely cover with aluminium foil and bake for 200ºC in grill setting for 1h30.
2. Let the pumpkin cool down until you can remove its skin, after removal you can either smash it with a fork or combine well in a food processor along with honey and yoghurt. You can add water or milk if the product is too thick for your taste, and adjust honey if desired.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

